A Celebration of Reading 


2017 A Celebration of Reading

purchase tickets and sponsorships NOW 

Mark your calendars and make plans to join First Lady Barbara Bush, Neil and Maria Bush and other members of the Bush family on the evening of Thursday, April 20, 2017 for the 23rd annual A Celebration of Reading at the Hobby Center in Downtown Houston. This spectacular event, chaired by Neil and Maria Bush, is an intimate affair during which national and international bestselling authors bring their work to life on stage and notable performers provide premier entertainment. Following the program, guests have the opportunity to relax and converse with each other over dinner.

A Celebration of Reading is the signature event of the year in Houston, and you will not want to miss it. Proceeds from the event benefit the Barbara Bush Houston Literacy Foundation and the Barbara Bush Foundation for Family Literacy.

For advanced information, please send inquiry to events@bushhoustonliteracy.org or call 713-467-2812.

Author alumni

Stephen Ambrose

Jean Auel

Susan Baker

David Baldacci

Rondé Barber

Tiki Barber

Dave Barry

Ted Bell

Michael Beschloss

Maeve Binchy

Cherie Blair

Eric Blehm

Barbara Taylor Bradford

James Bradley

Marc Brown

Sandra Brown

Jill Conner Browne

Christopher Buckley

Barbara Bush

George H. W. Bush

George W. Bush

Jeb Bush

Margaret Bush

Donovan Campbell

Stephen Carter

Carol Higgins Clark

Mary Higgins Clark

Bill Clinton

Harlan Coben

Jackie Collins

Robin Cook

Patricia Cornwell

Kelly Corrigan

Michael Crichton

Deborah Crombie

Stanley Crouch 

Li Cunxin

Dominick Dunne

David Eagleman

Richard Paul Evans

David Feherty

Antwone Fisher

Marlin Fitzwater

Fannie Flagg

Karyn Frist

Elizabeth George

Doris Kearns Goodwin

Amy Grant

John Grisham

David Halberstam

Tami Hoag

Karen Hughes

Immaculée Ilibagiza

Walter Isaacson

A. J. Jacobs

P. D. James

Dan Jenkins

James Earl Jones

Jan Karon

Mary Karr

Baine Kerr, Jr.

Tracy Kidder

Greg Kincaid

Christina Baker Kline

Dorie Lawson

Jim Lehrer

Robert Ludlum

P.M. John Major

James McBride

Frank McCourt

David McCullough

Reba McEntire   

Larry McMurtry

Jon Meacham

Brad Meltzer

Mary Tyler Moore

Blake Mycoskie

Jim Nantz

Mary Neal

Bob Newhart

Chuck Norris

Susan Orlean

Dianna Ossana

James Patterson

Richard North Patterson

Nathaniel Philbrick

Julia Reed

Al Roker

Arnold Scaasi

Brent Scowcroft

Sidney Sheldon

Anita Shreve

Mark K. Shriver

Hugh Sidey

Daniel Silva

Alan Simpson

Lester Smith

Kathryn Stockett

Jennifer Thompson

Ronald Cotton

Brad Thor

Scott Turow

Ronan Tynan

Andrea White

Lawrence Wright