2019 COR SaveThe Date (front).jpg

5pm VIP Authors’ Reception
6:30pm Program
Dinner to follow

For the past 25 years, the Bush family has been recognizing the tremendous power of literacy at A Celebration of Reading, a unique event featuring national bestselling authors and notable entertainers who bring their talent to the stage of the Hobby Center for the Performing Arts. Former First Lady Barbara Bush designed the event to shine the light on her cause of literacy and demonstrate to everyone that reading is joyful and a foundational skill for living the American Dream. A Celebration of Reading is indisputably one of Houston’s top charitable events and is hosted by one of the most beloved families in our nation.

VIP guests begin their special evening with a reception during which they mix and mingle with members of the Bush family and the line-up of bestselling authors, while enjoying cocktails and hors d’oeurves. All guests then proceed to the theater to enjoy the program, a professional production in which prominent authors artfully share their stories and entertainers delight guests with their talent. As hosts for the evening, the Bush family enlightens guests with their humor, while at the same time creating a sense of intimacy and connectedness through their love for one another and passion for the literacy cause. Following the program, guests enjoy a seated dinner and more time to converse before going home with a book written by one of the authors.

Proceeds from A Celebration of Reading benefit local literacy programs through the Barbara Bush Houston Literacy Foundation and national efforts through the Barbara Bush Foundation for Family Literacy.

Neil and Maria.jpg

Committee Chairs
Neil and Maria Bush



Iris and Bill Griffiths
Betty and John Hrncir
Elizabeth and Drayton McLane
Janice McNair
Sue Smith
Annette and George Strake

Shahla and Hushang Ansary
Susan and Jim Baker
Ginger Blanton
Lynn and Peter Coneway
Gail and Greg Garland



Kelli and Eddy Blanton
Leslie and Jack Blanton
Susan Bruch
Deborah and Gardner Cannon
Martha and Mark Carnes
Charlene Carroll
Wendy and Bill Chiles
Cathy and Joe Cleary
Lisa and Mark Coffin
Molly and Jim Crownover
Rose and Harry Cullen
Jill and Brad Deutser
Brenda and John Duncan
Cary Dunham
Terri and Greg Ebel
Patricia and Lon Edwards
Sidney and Don Faust
Ellen and Tommy Ford
Lily and Charles Foster
Lisa and Ray Garcia
Grace and Robert Givens
Rhonda and Michael Graff
Joanie and Don Haley
Gina and Brian Hanson
Terri and John Havens
Mary and Dennis Johnston
Pat and David Jones
Carolyn Keating
Terri Lacy and Jim Baird
Lisa and Ryan Lance
Amy and Gentry Lee
Carolyn and David Light

Carolyn and Mike Mann
Soraya and Scott McClelland
Amy and Kyle McCully
Karen McGee and Mark Frankland
Kathrine McGovern
Linda and Jim McIngvale
Ann and Rob McKee
Hannah and Cal McNair
Melanie and Mace Meeks
Karen and Scott Miracle
Alice and Keith Mosing
John Nau
Sally and Charles Neblett
Roxann and Tim Neumann
Mariloli and Marvin Odum
Kay Onstead
Faith and Blair Parker
Louise and Bob Parsley
Susie Peake
Stephanie and Scott Pierce
Gloria Portela and Richard Evans
Mary Ellen and Scott Prochazka
Nathalie and Charles Roff
Deborah and Monte Stavis
Anne Taylor and Edward Harris
Ty and Lee Tillman
Stephanie and Frank Tsuru
Phoebe and Bobby Tudor
Dick Wainerdi
Andrea and Bill White
Constance White


Author alumni

We are grateful for the following authors for giving of their time and talent
to participate in A Celebration of Reading, and whose books inspire us all.

Stephen Ambrose
Jean Auel
Susan Baker
David Baldacci
Rondé Barber
Tiki Barber
Dave Barry
Ted Bell
Michael Beschloss
Maeve Binchy
Cherie Blair
Eric Blehm
Barbara Taylor Bradford
James Bradley
David Brooks
Bill Browder
Marc Brown
Sandra Brown
Jill Conner Browne
Christopher Buckley
Barbara Bush
George H. W. Bush
George W. Bush
Jeb Bush
Margaret Bush
Donovan Campbell
Stephen Carter
Carol Higgins Clark
Mary Higgins Clark
Bill Clinton
Harlan Coben
Jackie Collins
Robin Cook
Patricia Cornwell
Kelly Corrigan
Michael Crichton
Deborah Crombie
Stanley Crouch

Li Cunxin
Clive Cussler
Dominick Dunne
David Eagleman
Richard Paul Evans
David Feherty
Antwone Fisher
Marlin Fitzwater
Fannie Flagg
Karyn Frist
Jim Gaffigan
Elizabeth George
Doris Kearns Goodwin
Sue Grafton
Amy Grant
John Grisham
David Halberstam
Tami Hoag
Karen Hughes
Immaculée Ilibagiza
Walter Isaacson
A. J. Jacobs
P. D. James
Dan Jenkins
James Earl Jones
Jan Karon
Mary Karr
John Kasich
Christina "CK" Kerley
Baine Kerr, Jr.
Tracy Kidder
Greg Kincaid
Christina Baker Kline
Dorie Lawson
Jim Lehrer
Robert Ludlum
P.M. John Major
James McBride

Frank McCourt
David McCullough
Reba McEntire   
Larry McMurtry
Jon Meacham
Brad Meltzer
Candice Millard
Mary Tyler Moore
Blake Mycoskie
Jim Nantz
Mary Neal
Bob Newhart
Chuck Norris
Susan Orlean
Dianna Ossana
James Patterson
Richard North Patterson
Nathaniel Philbrick
Julia Reed
Al Roker
Arnold Scaasi
Brent Scowcroft
Sidney Sheldon
Anita Shreve
Mark K. Shriver
Hugh Sidey
Daniel Silva
Alan Simpson
Lester Smith
Kathryn Stockett
Jennifer Thompson
Ronald Cotton
Brad Thor
Scott Turow
Ronan Tynan
Andrea White
Lawrence Wright


For more information, please call 346-212-2310 or
email Events@BushHoustonLiteracy.org.